Technology, Isolation, and the Arts

This might be helpful in thinking about David Gilmour and son and the possibilities of the arts in creating intimacy. . .

Put Down Your Cell Phone

About jchall1960

I'm the instructor for FA 200, Introduction to the Arts at the University of Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Technology, Isolation, and the Arts

  1. srlewis3 says:

    Choosing to read this blog was filled with so much irony. I just came back to the dorm hyperventilating because I had left my cell phone there and had been gone for hours. I agree totally with Turkle. Most teens I know have plans with unlimited texts, but limited minutes. That is because we would rather text each other than talk. I know that my mom texts me when we are in the house together.(She in her room, and me in mine.) When a new guy calls, I tell him to text me instead. I am way more comfortable getting to know someone by texting them instead of talking to them. Social networks are not making human interactions any easier.And like Turlke mentioned, having access to it in our pockets is only further isolating us. Her description of the relationship of people today and their cell phones, “the illusion of companionship without the demands of friendship”, hit dead on. Our phone will always be there with us giving us the sense of companionship (we don’t feel lonely), but it does not require us to spark conversation or anything. It is just there for us. At the end of the article it said that the audience turned on their phone less enthusiastically, but I’m sure that feeling only lasted for a second. They will go right on back to texting their kids at the dinner table just as they did before. Just like I’m sure, I will try to text less but will ultimately fall back into the usual 649 texts a day. Because quite frankly, I don’t think that our relationships with our (humans) phone is about to fade away, but become stronger (worse) in the future.

  2. This article really was a eye opener for me. I never realized how much i text rather than just pick up my phone and call people. It is crazy to think people will make sure they have more access to texting rather than calling. Even when I decided after reading this article to try to stop texting not thinking I will have sent 50 text within an hour. It is so true when Turlke talks about out phones being our companions. This article really helped me notice the unnecessary times I text each day.

  3. sbusby2015 says:

    Wow. This article is so true that it is scary how we don’t realize how much we rely on our cell phones. Thinking back to the last bill I honestly couldn’t tell you how many thousands of text messages I have sent, yet how many thousands of minutes are constantly being rolled over. If people would take one good look at their cell phone bill they would realize how sad it is that they text 95% more than they call. What I think we do not realize is how much easier it would be honestly if we would just pick up the phone and call someone. We wouldn’t have to wait around for a response text we would get it right at that moment. There is not a place I go without my phone being attached to be. I feel lost without it like it’s some kind of addiction. I feel like if I am not texting just about all times of the day that something is wrong. However, I believe the article is very true people should stop relying on technology such as cell phones and text messages as much as we do. I feel like in the future it is only going to hurt us.

  4. Oh my goodness…this article hit it right on. I use my cell phone to text way more than to actually call someone. Most of the time, the texts aren’t even necessary! My cell phone is my companion and that is sad to me. Without it, I feel so weird and unconnected from the rest of the world. I agree that we need to slow down with the technology fad.

  5. Nure Kassas says:

    It’s true that we rely on our cell phones entirely too much. If we don’t texting, then we have a data plan, so we tweet, email, or post messages on facebook. I think that cell phone companies are aware of this weakness – this reliance – we all have on our cell phones which is why data plans and unlimited texting plans are cheaper than buying a lot of minutes. This of course makes our texting habits a lot worse because why waste minutes or pay for a bunch of minutes when we can just text (it’s cheaper too!). It’s basically a vicious cycle.

  6. klfoto says:

    It’s crazy how much technology has changed over the years. When you grow up with a generation of vastly changing technology all the time it is hard to imagine life without it. I can’t imagine not having a phone now or a computer, yet not too long ago, our parents didn’t even have these. It’s so much easier to stay in touch with people than it was years ago when our parents were in school. Texting has become so much more popular simply in the last few years. When I first got my cell phone in middle school, I didn’t have texting. Then, I got 200 texts per month. Next, I updated to 1000 texts per month. Now, with unlimited texting, I can’t even imagine how many I send. Like many others, I prefer text over calling someone. I hardly ever have a long phone conversation anymore, unless I am catching up with someone. Sometimes I wish I could see how it was years ago when cell phones didn’t exist.

  7. This is so true! I had no idea that cell phones, internet, and any kind of technology had gotten us so addicted to them. We are becoming more and more anti-social very quickly. So many of us spend much of our time on facebook and seeing what other people are up to (I know I’m guilty of that), or having texting conversations instead of just calling the person.
    I am actually worried about when I have kids, I don’t want them to struggle because of what we are doing now. I would really like to go back in time to see how life was before cell phones didn’t exist. Like I remember when I was younger cell phones were not around that much, but I want to be the age I am now and see what would be different without our need for cellphones.
    This is a very good article. Thanks for sharing!

  8. fa200fall2011sec2karliboulware says:

    I agree in that I rely on my cell phone(texting mostly) probably more than I should. But also, I know that it is way more convenient to to talk to say,my parents and other family, throughout the day via text. I am able to communicate with them throughout the course of the day, because it is very rare that I have a spare hour or two to call and chat with everybody. I do not blame the cell phone, I kind of blame myself for being too busy for any communication other than texting those I care about. Don’t know if that makes any sense, but I don’t think it’s technology to blame, but just my busyness in general.

  9. People rely on technology way too much, and it is hurting our relationships with others. Sherry Turkle states, “As people have learned to put labels on food and airbags in cars, they can learn, too, to use technology in ways that are not, in her view, barriers to human relationships.” I do not know if it is possible to have your cake and eat it too. In my opinion, it is either texting or personal interaction. Only time will really show us if it is possible. Sadly, I think humanity will unfortunately become more dependent on technology as time goes on.

  10. wnichols1993 says:

    Goodness, no one really knows how much we all truly use technology until it is right in front of our faces. I will be the first one to admit I use technology way too much but look at the rest of the world who are making a killing amount of income off of technology that is slowly expanding our world. I imagine in some ways technology are making our world suffer in communication wise. I believe we are all guilty.

  11. fa200fall2011mollyfeltus says:

    this is so true it’s scary. At home, I text my dad from another room away. We have become so impersonal with people even if we are close friends with them. People are so distant stuck in their own world now.

  12. I agree with everyone that this is so true. As sad as it is, most people are so attached to their cell phone and use text messaging as their primary form of communication. I wish I could say that I was not entirely this way, but I think it is hard not to be with the convenience. I saw where someone else said that they almost feel lost without having their cell phone with them and I completely agree. Although I do not text as some of these others, I do text because most of the time it is so much easier to text a question and get your answer and avoid the small talk. I do agree though that this is hurting us socially. I have found myself several times ignoring a phone call and texting back asking what was up because I did not feel like having a full conversation at the time. It is sad to see how our relationships with one another are starting to get less personal because of technology, but we all know it will only get worse as the new technology makes it simpler for us to become this way.

  13. agaron1993 says:

    I am also in agreement with everyone here. Cell Phones have become something of an added appendage and texting is definitely out of control. After reading the article, I tried to pay attention to how much I texted instead of called people. This is cleary hurting us socially. Personally, one of my biggest pet peeves is when you are sitting with a group of friends and everyone is on their phones instead of talking. It is certainly sad to see that while technology progresses, simple human relationships digress.

  14. I feel like I am restating the previous comments but it is true. I am guilty of texting all day every day. I feel that this problem will only progress in the future as more technology comes out.

Leave a Reply

