50th Anniversary of the Film Version of WEST SIDE STORY

Since I’m convinced that at least 5% of you performed in some way in this musical during high school. . . Do you agree with Mandel as to why this is so important? Might be interesting to connect it to the story last week that so many of you liked about the ballet dancer. How and why has dance been feminized in our culture?

West Side Story at 50

About jchall1960

I'm the instructor for FA 200, Introduction to the Arts at the University of Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 50th Anniversary of the Film Version of WEST SIDE STORY

  1. I loved this movie and play!

  2. I watched this movie in high school and watched the play also and loved it!! It has always been one of my favorite movies!!

  3. sbusby2015 says:

    I had the pleasure of watching this play in New York City a couple years ago during my trip to dance in the Macy’s Day parade. I can honestly say I fell in love with the play. From beginning to end you were entertained wondering what was going to happen next, or how long it would be before the two completely different cliques would brawl. I walked out of the theatre that night wanting to go right back in and watch it again.

  4. I love this movie! I have never actually seen the musical, but would love to. The storyline fascinates me!

  5. wnichols1993 says:

    I love both the play and movie! I believe dance has been femanized because it was a label. Guys have put the label that because pretty girls dance, wear tights and leotards they can not. News flash, there are MANY male dancers in this world who most likely more successful than the males who label and discriminate against it.

    • mbrandjes says:

      I absolutely LOVE West Side Story! It is a beautiful story and the dancing and singing is amazing. And I agree with wnichols1993. There are many male dancers and they are entirely successful. Male dancers are valuable because so many guys are scared of dancing on stage. Some don’t seem to see that dancing is a workout and requires so much muscle control and strength. If only this reputation and thoughts of male dancing was wrong…. (Anybody who watches So You Think You Can Dance will probably back me up on this).

Leave a Reply

