Lists. . .

I cam from a mostly working class family; we really didn’t have much in the way of “high” arts in our home. My parents listened to the mainstream popular music of the day (and in retrospect I realize that they had great taste) — crooners, country music, Elvis — and like everyone we knew, they liked the movies and television.

So as I got more interested in a wider range of arts, I was usually on my own in my explorations; so I was always on the hunt for lists — “best of,” “most important,” etc. It’s important that you are always suspicious of the authority behind such things. . . and recognize that you’re always able to reject or start mentally constructing your own lists. But for a younger working class guy, interested in the cultural capital these art forms provided, and the occasional epiphanies and joy they provided, other folks’ lists were golden. I still can’t resist them:

Five Great Symphonies

About jchall1960

I'm the instructor for FA 200, Introduction to the Arts at the University of Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lists. . .

  1. Nure Kassas says:

    I sort of got addicted to listening to classical music when I was going through a very stressful time a few years ago. I especially enjoyed music by Beethoven, Pachelbel, and Mozart. Their music really helped me relax and escape what I was going through for a while.

  2. ashtown11 says:

    Classical music is wonderful! Really gets me in the mode to buckle down and study. But I too did not come from a vary artsy family… certainly not one who pushed the arts in my life. Although, my dad always had music in the house, is huge into films/movie making and reminded me of Jesse’s dad in “The Film Club”!

  3. mdetter says:

    As a former high school band student, I was given many opportunities that strengthened my background with classical music. Whether it be by learning and performing, or by sitting in the audience. As a band we took trips to Chicago and New York, where we got to see both major symphony’s perform famous works. I remember the Chicago Symphony performed Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5. But aside from being an audience member, I too enjoy listening to classical music while studying and working on homework. It’s definitely easier to say focused when I don’t have to worry about lyrics popping into my head.

  4. wnichols1993 says:

    Classical music really gives a structure for all music in today’s society, I truly do love it. It is also a huge technique used in school played in low key by teachers. Classical music does not have lyrics to distract anyone either. Classical music never fails.

  5. elgernert says:

    I really enjoy classical music. I started listening to it when i took a music class in highschool. As we listened to more and more songs the more i got intrigued with it and i started to listen to it more!

Leave a Reply

