Public Sculpture at UA

A few of you have begun paying attention to public art and sculpture on our campus. I promised a couple of flickr stream links which come with some contextual narrative. Here you go:

UA Public 3D

UA Sculpture

If you end up writing about them, a few thoughts:

Try to pay attention to the relationship between the sculpture and the space surrounding it. How does the presence of the sculpture change the architecture or landscape? How does the public interact with the work? What kind of environment does the sculpture create? Does it have an ironic relationship to the environment or does it extend motifs already part of buildings or greenscape? Does it have political or philosophic import or does it engage us strictly at the level of our senses?

About jchall1960

I'm the instructor for FA 200, Introduction to the Arts at the University of Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Public Sculpture at UA

  1. I think that “Goldie 1971” is really neat. I know that the first time that I ever saw it, I had no idea why it was there. It doesn’t really have an explanation or anything around it so I figured it was just some weird art project. I then noticed, that in fact I was surrounded by art buildings. This sculpture is the focal point between the studios around it. I also found the history of “Goldie 1971” to be very interesting. I had no idea that this actually meant something. I feel like now when I pass it, I will stop to admire it and think about why it is actually there and not placed somewhere else.

  2. jchall1960 says:

    thanks for this; Goldie is pretty interesting in that its the one piece of art that folks do interact with actively. Kids climb on it. . . folks have their pictures taken with it. . .. and it functions as a meeting spot.

  3. I sit in Woods Quad almost twice a week in between classes and I have never noticed this piece of art (Goldie). When I saw these pictures I realized I walk this same route everyday and pass this sculpture all the time. Art is so irrelevant to me that something this big and interesting completely shoots passed me and goes completely unnoticed. Even though I am normally not interested in art this sculpture now catches my eye every time I walk pass it. Goldie is a robot laying down, that is going to intrigue anyone. I would normally not refer to that as art, but this class makes me realize alot of things i orginally would not consider art are art. The fact that it’s laying in the middle of our campus and that we can jump off of it and lay by it makes it even more attracting to the eye. Normally art is so prestiguous; you can’t touch it, take a picture of it, or eat around it, but the fact that you can do all that and more with “Goldie” makes it more fun and artsy.

  4. I have constantly passed by this piece of art called Goldie. Often I catch myself unaware of my surroundings and never realize how much art is around me each day. Once I noticed Goldie, which is a robot laying down on the ground, I realized how unique this piece of art is. Everyday as i pass Goldie i notice students drawing, laying, and even admiring this abstract piece of art. The fact that art often is something you can interact with is what makes Goldie appealing.

  5. I have constantly passed by this piece of art called Goldie. Often I catch myself unaware of my surroundings and never realize how much art is around me each day. Once I noticed Goldie, which is a robot laying down on the ground, I realized how unique this piece of art really is. Everyday as I pass Goldie I notice students drawing, laying, and even admiring this abstract piece of art. The fact that art often is something you can’t interact with is what makes Goldie appealing.

  6. wnichols1993 says:

    All of the sculptures we have on campus are so neat, it even bubbles the brains of the “non artsy” people!

Leave a Reply

