Art and Politics

Couple of interesting pieces on the relationship between the arts, politics, change.

I’m especially interested in the current generational enthusiasm for documentary. . . and would be interested in hearing from you as to what you think its all about. Part of it is probably the availability of multiple distribution outlets (like Netflix or whatever they are calling it this week), but, a generation ago, a big budget documentary was almost unheard of. . . and there were few documentaries (say, like SUPERSIZE ME, for instance) that ever became part of general cultural discussion.

Reel to Real

Oppression and Great Art

About jchall1960

I'm the instructor for FA 200, Introduction to the Arts at the University of Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art and Politics

  1. I love documentaries! I would probably say that, on average, I watch more documentaries than I do movies. I am slightly a science buff, so I enjoy to watch documentaries about space, health and anything related. I watched a documentary just recently on the rapper Biggie Smalls, called “Notorious BIG”, and I can honestly say that it is one of the best documentaries that I have ever viewed. I just love to hear the facts and events of the past rekindled and revisited.

Leave a Reply

