Dance Alabama & Dance in America

This week is the Dance Alabama ensemble. . . and is always a good show. . . and increasingly much in demand. (You can expect that the Friday evening show will sell out.)

My experience is that folks either love or hate dance. . . rarely much in between. The haters say that they just don’t know how to respond. “The bodies are interesting enough, but what am I supposed to make of it all?”

You might argue that with “Dancing With the Stars,” and with “So You Think You Can Dance?” (and a remake of “Footloose”) that dance is at a high point. . . but most professional dance companies are struggling.

Might be worth reminding ourselves that there was a moment in American culture when art dance, social dance, and mainstream popular culture were fully aligned:

Do you take dance seriously as an artform? (Outside of this class) Would you pay money to attend a professional dance company event?

About jchall1960

I'm the instructor for FA 200, Introduction to the Arts at the University of Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dance Alabama & Dance in America

  1. Mary Wesley Cade says:

    I would absolutely pay money to see a dance performance. I have danced my entire life and appreciate it as an art form entirely.

  2. I feel that watching dance can have the same affect as listening to a good song. It’s all about the emotions you feel while you watch the dancers move and listen to the music in the background. I would pay to see a dance performance because I enjoy seeing all the work the dancers did pay off in the end with a great show. I feel like even if people say they wouldn’t enjoy certain types of art, you have to keep an open mind because you could be surprised at what you actually end up enjoying!

  3. wnichols1993 says:

    I can not wait to see the show on Friday! I purchased my ticket on Monday. – Walton Nichols

  4. ashtown11 says:

    I think dance is such a wonderful form of art. Much like a picture, painting, photo, sculpture, or any other type of art, a dance performance tells a story. Many dances also evoke emotion to the viewer. Its like when Sartwell felt this feeling of falling when viewing that picture of the woman; dance can definitely do that same thing for someone. I would pay to go to another production aside from Dance Alabama I went to Tuesday night.

  5. kaylaann393 says:

    I definately feel like dance is a form of art! Especially if we qualify music as an art form. Dance is people both emotionally and physically connecting with the music to a point at which it becomes one production. I’m not a dancer, but I’ve heard that it’s way more difficult than it looks. I wish I was that talented! I would pay to see professional dance productions. I guess it just doesn’t seem like they get as much attention from the public as something like a sporting event would. Not that dancing isn’t a sport but I’m referring to like football, volleyball, basketball, etc. If I heard more about when dance productions were going on I would go.

  6. Nure Kassas says:

    I think that the meaning of dance has also changed with time. It seems like when people say they are going dancing, they refer going to dance clubs where you don’t get to see the full range that dance actually encompasses. In order to see a more wide spectrum of dance, people would have to attend a Broadway show, a ballet recital, or watch episodes of So You Think You Can Dance or Dancing with the Stars. Unfortunately, with today’s economy, there are people who simply cannot afford to attend live dance shows, and that would make it harder for companies to be able to hire dancers.

  7. Nure Kassas says:

    I would just like to quickly add, while US films have moved away from creating films such as Singing in the Rain or Mary Poppins that incorporated incredible song and dance scenes, other cultures have not. If you have ever seen Indian movies, you would know that in almost every Indian movie there are numerous dance and song numbers, and music and dance continue to be a large part of the culture. I think the definition of what the arts are may have changed with younger generations, and a lot of people in these generations seem to view some of the more classical art forms as “old” and “uncool” compared to the new, more modern additions to the arts. A large part of this shift could probably be attributed to the arts being ignored in the school systems. After all, if we fail to teach younger generations about the beauty of the classical art forms, how can we expect them to appreciate it?

Leave a Reply

