Your Brain on Art

Does this kind of research interest you? Is it helpful? Would you go to your local school board to argue for more arts funding based on this kind of inquiry? Or are we better off making arguments about the intrinsic value of the arts?

http://www.artsjournal.com/newbeans/2011/09/this-is-your-brain-on-art-sizzle-sizzle.html

About jchall1960

I'm the instructor for FA 200, Introduction to the Arts at the University of Alabama
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Your Brain on Art

  1. Nure Kassas says:

    I think that the arts and sciences balance each other out- like yin and yang. Being able to think creatively- think outside the box- is a skill that is crucial in many scientific fields, including medicine, engineering, and computer science. These skills develop the more people are exposed to the arts. Additionally, the arts can serve as as stress reliever, boosting mood, allowing people to feel more confident, and perform better at their jobs.
    It seems to me that what Kristin Shumaker is trying to do is to find a scientific way to measure both the intrinsic and extrinsic benefits the arts have on an individual. I think it will definitely help emphasize as to why the arts are important. Being able to show physiological changes (temperature, hormone release, ect.) and the neural pathway changes in the human body that demonstrate that the arts can help elevate mood or connect neural pathways in the body, for example, will perhaps convince society that the arts deserve funding as much as the sciences.

  2. Nure Kassas says:

    This is not a completely unrelated article:

    http://www.cnn.com/2011/HEALTH/08/09/music.soothes.anxiety.cancer/index.html?iref=allsearch

    The article discusses how music helps ease pain and anxiety in cancer patients. Additionally, I remember reading some articles on how art therapy benefits people with mental disorders.

  3. mdetter says:

    I definitely believe art has an amazing impact on the brain, and I personally would argue the school board for more funding in the arts for the students with special needs. My sister is a certified music therapist and has had many opportunities to work with many clients of all ages with many different disorders. It’s definitely a site to see. These people can hear wrong pitches as well as express themselves through music, when they are unable to through words. Music, as well as all forms of art has the amazing ability to treat and cope with virtually anything.

  4. mbrandjes says:

    I believe that it is important to have a balance between the arts and the sciences. When I was being raised by my parents, they made sure I was exposed equally. I was very good at the sciences in school, but not so much the arts. My parents wanted to make sure that I had equal exposure so they took me to plays, art galleries, art festivals and art shows. That shaped me as a person, because now I am able to appreciate both sides of the spectrum.

Leave a Reply

